Do you enjoy unfortunate terminology that’s especially confusing for new players? Me neither, but it’s what keeps this series going – so credit where credit is due, and let’s hippity hop right into it.
So, you have stumbled through several turns of a Weiss game and the inevitable end of your deck is near. If you need to do anything that would require interacting with more cards than you’ve got left in deck, and you don’t want to commit several crimes against the Comprehensive rules in the process, here are some things you need to keep in mind.
I’m sure this question has been asked a hundred different times in a dozen different contexts. Most of the time, the answer is yes. But sometimes, it’s a no. At the end of the day, once you understand how Weiss sees its in-game abilities, this question simply boils down to carefully reading the ability text. So let’s go over some examples, shall we?
In entry #2, I explained that brainstormed cards are one of only 4 things in Weiss that go to Resolution Zone – the other 3 being Events, Triggers and Damage. But if you’re playing in English, that post might have raised more questions than it answered.
Why just brainstorms? How about all the other abilities with the same wording?
So that’s what I’ll go over in today’s special edition of where the hell do my cards go and why can’t Bushiroad translate properly?
In the entry about check timings, I explained the basic rule of turn player priority, but let’s be honest – that is nowhere near covering all the convoluted interactions that can happen with multiple simultaneous AUTO abilities in Weiss Schwarz. So that’s what we are doing today!
I think everyone has at least one minor thing in their lives that they’re too passionate about. Mine just so happens to be lecturing people on why counters aren’t backups, so this should be extremely fun … for me, at least.
That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime released a while ago in JP, and since it has just been announced for English as well, I thought it’s high time I get around to writing this down (I had it in the back of my mind ever since the JP release, just never had the time).
Basically, when the set dropped in JP, I kept seeing questions about this card:
“Highest-Ranked Flame Spirit” Ifrit 【AUTO】 [(2) Put 2 《Demon Continent》 characters from your hand into your waiting room & Choose 1 card in your clock and put it into your level] When this card attacks, you may pay the cost. If you do, perform the following action 3 times. “Deal 4 damage to your opponent.” (Damage may be canceled)
It’s hard to explain many advanced rule interactions in Weiss Schwarz without mentioning check timings, play timings and rule actions, so I thought I should cover these early on before diving into other topics. Grab your waifu pillows, this is gonna be a long one.
One of the most common misunderstandings I see among new Weiss Schwarz players is that playing a card and placing a card on stage are the same thing – they are not. It’s true that placing a card on stage is one of the steps in playing a card, but a card doesn’t always have to be played to be placed on stage.